Reading through my English sentiments

larawan ng isang ibong nagtuturo ng daan sa pagbabasa

Long, slow and arduous, is how I would describe my path in reading/ stjohnleonia.org

I did not major in English or Literature. My English subjects in college consisted of the required Communications I to III.  My grades in those subjects? Just a little over the passing mark, haha. I had one other subject, Humanidades I, where we briefly tackled the merits of Literature and its place in the history of mankind. There.

Early in my college, I was aware that other students had higher English subjects, English 5 among them. English 5’s textbook was called Prism. Prism, if I remember correctly, discussed the works of Fyodor Dostoevsky, Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Milan Kundera, among others. During class breaks, I would see those students in the hallways with their copies of The Brothers Karamazov, One Hundred Years of Solitude and The Unbearable Lightness of Being. They appeared to be proud of what they were reading and I would look on and salivate, haha.

I so badly wanted to take English 5, too. But it was not in my checklist of courses. I checked and rechecked my curriculum to see if I could squeeze it in somehow, as an elective or a cognate. Tough luck, there’s no way I could pull off that trick easily. The goal would have involved not just lengthy negotiations with the concerned college authorities. It also demanded that I take three more subjects as prerequisites. I would have to do some magic realism myself to realize that ambition. I contented myself with a xeroxed copy of Marquez’s short story, Big Mama’s Funeral.

Years later, I would have my own money and eventually buy copy of those books and then some, by the same authors. I would also get the chance to read Kafka’s The Trial and The Metamorphosis,  Sartre’s The Age of Reason and No Exit and  Camus’ The Stranger and The Plague. In the mid-90s, a former teacher would introduce me to Ben Okri and his work, The Famished Road, a book that makes her swoon. Two years later, a friend would gift me with a copy of Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things and thus, begin my foray into the so-called Third World literature.

larawan ng pabalat ng libro ni Marquez, Ang Pag-ibig sa Panahon ng Kolera

Some of my friends jumped when this book came out. Really./ conversationalreading.com

What did I think of their writings? I enjoyed Garcia Marquez’s creations, immensely. They are very graphic, intense and his characters are leaping out of the pages. The magic realism part bedazzled and confused me at first, but I eventually got the hang of it. His works  are what I would call as manly novels, in the same league as Cervantes’ and Miguel de Unamuno’s. I was fascinated as well with Okri, his feast-like rendition of the ordinary street with its extraordinary casts – the peddlers, the loafers and the spirits. Dostoevsky’s work, I found to be dark and vaguely religious. Kundera’s writings maybe full of love, but the author’s too deep and intellectual for me.

Kafka and Sartre, I found too philosophical. I mean, existentialism was cool, back in my early college days. Then, you would hear fellow students discussing philosophy like they were neighbors with Immanuel Kant and Nietzche, went to the same university that Simone de Beauvoir did, and had a chat with Jean Paul Sartre – over a cup of coffee. I am not exaggerating, by the way. Such atmosphere was probably too much for my provincial sensibilities. The only reading materials lying around in our house for many years were old copies of Hiyas ng Wika (Gems of Our Language) I to IV and a dog-eared copy of Hardy’s Return of the Native, haha. I like Albert Camus’ works though, even as many consider Camus second fiddle to Sartre.

I had my fill of Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters rather late – post-college, I think. I got to read the works of Edith Wharton first.  I prefer the Wuthering Heights over Pride and Prejudice, I know not many do. Anyhow, those novels somehow imprinted in me things English – language, accents and ways. The speech and the manner of dressing of the men during the period (I think their manliness was exaggerated in the novels), the curls and the laces of the women (Errr, they had too much of them?) and the decors of the English living room – portray an emotional yet interesting era, that moves me, in many ways.

larawan ng isang silid noong panahong Victorian sa Inglatera

The speech and the houses were lacy and elaborate during the Victorian times / http://countryandvictoriantimes.files.wordpress.com

In my early 20s, I was reading a whole lot, the eclectic way and came across the works of the Russian authors – Leo Tolstoy, Maxim Gorky, Anton Chekhov and Alexander Solzhenitsyn. Tolstoy, I greatly admire for his wide compass. For me, his works  painted the Russian landscape with all its tensions and nuances. I am not particularly fond of the character of Anna Karenina, I’ll skip the reason for now.  At any rate, I just chanced by three of Gorky’s writings. I did not know then that he or his works, were political. Solzhenitsyn wrote long pieces like Tolstoy, definitely political. They were mostly about the individual’s sufferings and his struggles against the oppressive state. I recall suffering, too, while reading his novels, haha.  Among his works, I remember the short ones. It’s Chekhov I like best, I think. His works are the ones I would go back to, from time to time.

It was also in my 20s that I came across some of the writings of Joseph Conrad, Virginia Woolf and Marcel Proust (Remembrance of Things Past, abridged edition). Except for The Secret Sharer, I was not taken with Conrad’s writings, maybe because am not really fond of sea-voyage stories. Woolf’s novels  were way beyond my league, I acknowledged early on. Virginia’s too intelligent and too upscale for me, I guess. But I would reread her essays every now and then, if only to be reminded of the depth of thoughts and feelings, a woman writer could have. Proust is highbrow reading as well, a male and different version of Woolf. His works, I found too Western for my rather Eastern and rural upbringing.

larawan ng isang babae sa bukid, pabalat ng isang aklat na sinulat ni Willa Cather

O Pioneers! and My Antonia remain to be my favorites among Willa Cather's works/ http://fingersandprose.blogspot.com

Earlier on, I had already come across the writings of Bertolt Brecht, Andre Gide and Ignazio Silone. I came across Brecht because I used to frequent The Goethe Institute, when the German Embassy was still in the New Manila area. I no longer recall how I was introduced to Gide and Silone, but I remember that their works are very interesting. Coming across the works of Kate Chopin, Willa Cather and Harper Lee must have been through my sibling, who studied their works at class. I like Cather’s novels, chiefly because they talk about the countryside.  William Faukner, his works I read over a period of ten years maybe, beginning in the early 9os. His writings, getting progressively darker than the other, I suppose.

I really did not have a program for reading fictions. For a long time, I did not even know which works were  considered classic, what genres they actually belonged to and who were the authors hailed as giants or awarded the Nobel Prize or the Pulitzer. I just read and if I happened to like a work, I would list down the name of the author and look for his or her other writings in the library or the bookstore. In high school, we were introduced to only a few – Voltaire, Dante and Rossetti. That time, my favorite author was Pearl Buck. I didn’t know many others then. I knew Shakespeare as a name, but I only got to hear a bit about him when my teacher in junior year recited four lines from King Lear. I never really read any of his works until my nieces bugged me to please, please, write their book reviews.

larawan ng isang batang babaeng masaya habang nagbabasa

Some private high schools begin their students reading of Literature early/ dynamicmindsph.com

Upon entering college and living in the big city, I was surprised to learn that my classmates who studied in preppy schools in Metro Manila, have already read the Pride and Prejudice, Death of a Salesman and Of Mice and Men. Some even boasted of having read the works of John Galsworthy, including the saga. At that time, my readings consisted of borrowed copies of the works of Richard Bach,  Robert Ludlum and Margaret Atwood. On the formal side of things,  I was then being introduced to the works of Charles Dickens, Henrik Ibsen and Ernest Hemingway plus The World’s Greatest Short Stories (this necessitated trips to the library’s reference section).

26 comments on “Reading through my English sentiments

  1. you’re a reader. so i think you would enjoy The Royal Game by Stefan Zweig, and The Crock of Gold by James Stephens. thanks for the “follow.” continue…

  2. renxkyoko says:

    Hi there !

    I had read some of the authors in HS , and a few in college… But to be honest, they weren’t for me, maybe I was too young to appreciate those books. Then one summer in HS, I read a book by Robert Ludlum…. I became an addict of his genre. I feel that whatever book we read, we have to enjoy it, no matter if it isn’t by Steinbeck et al. in fact, the book that had the greatest impact on my psyche is a children’s book that i had read in 3rd grade….. The Little Match Girl.

    Cheers !

    • Hello, Ren! Hey, glad you’re back… 🙂

      Yes, there are plenty of well-written books and admirable authors especially from the Western side, haha, like Steinbeck and Arthur Miller. Their works may make a lot of sense, in terms of logic or brilliance, but still, as you say, it is how much we enjoyed reading the books, yes. Not because they’re tagged as classic or belong to the so-called canons…

      Didn’t we all pass by the Robert Ludlum phase? The Road to Gandolfo, The Road to Omaha, all roads leading to Ludlum, haha… ^^

      Yes, The Little Match Girl, haha, with illustration… I remember two stories from my early teens – The Last Class by Alphonse Daudet and Ang Kwento ni Mabuti (The Story of Well) by Genevova Edrosa Matute… Cheers to you! 🙂

      • renxkyoko says:

        I wish I could come back everyday…. ugh… I can’t even update my blog, and I do have tons of blogs I have to read too. I manage to read 3 or 4 a day, and that’s it.

        I also read Tom Clancy… yep, I’ve read all of Ludlum’s and Tom Clancy’s and several others,,, and they’re all thrillers and mystery books, nothing high brow, mind you, but I do enjoy reading them, and that’s what’s important to me.

        Ah, The Little Match Girl….. I cried to my teacher and told her I hated the story.. You know , I posted something about this little anecdote of mine, although I don’t know exactly when and what post. I’m sure it ‘s one of my earlest, in 2010.

        Cheers.

      • hello, Ren – come on, you’re one super busy person. it sure heartens me that you’re able to come by every now and then. 🙂

        hey, i read Tom Clancy way back, too. and some Dick Francis, i think. and before that, a couple of Isaac Asimov. also, William Golding. ha, ha i enjoyed them. read most of them at a friend’s house.

        The Little Match Girl is so touching, then and now. i’ll look up your old post on it. cheers! 🙂

  3. Nice post. I’ve seen a couple of Brecht plays–gotta say I like Sam Shepherd better. I appreciate a lot of the old stuff-I can suffer through Ulysses. I can enjoy any Steinbeck. Just read some Chekov short stories and they were alright. I think I get derailed on the dated-ness of stuff–and there’s so much new!

    • Hello and thanks, bestbathroombooks. Glad you dropped by. ^^

      Hmmn, Brecht’s one serious guy, haha. Must have something to do with the times he lived, wrote and directed in. Sam Shepherd’s writings are fast, fast… Oh, I like Oddyseus, one of the really old classics i appreciate. Enjoyed Steinbeck, too. Chekhov’s very good in recreating scenes and moods.

      Yes, I also tried reading some classics a year ago and found it harder than before to concentrate. You think it’s about the datedness, huh?^^ Cheers!

  4. I am quite bittered with how some ‘preppy high schools’ require their students to read Dostoevsky or Kafka. During high school the most highbrow I have ever read is Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men. Michael Crichton, Stephen King and One Piece were my high school gods, hehe.

    Btw I love your blog title. Let’s hold our 35 and up cynicism while we can. ^_^

    • hello, John, thanks for passing by…

      hah, Doestoevsky and Kafka for H.S.students? that’s tough. they’re difficult to understand even in college… they probe deeply into the darkness of the human soul. perhaps, they should be read by people who are keenly into miseries, haha… ^^

      i read several Stephen King novels, too, and two works by Michael Crichton, i think.

      glad you liked it. it’s to say that it’s a site by someone no longer in her 20s but behaves and writes delinquently, ahaha. thanks for commenting. 🙂

  5. aninipot says:

    Hello ate.

    Either you write in english or tagalog i will always
    recognize your writing style. Madaldal ka parin.

    Pero dumugo ilong ko sa mga binabasa mo ang kunti lng ng writer na namention mo ang kilala ko. Haha! halatang-halata na ang agwat ng edad natin. Peace!

    Nakarelate ako dun sa English 5, wla din kase sa curiculum ng kurso ko pero nagawan ng paraan kase may general elective kaming kukunin na subject at Literature kinuha ko. Hahaha

    • hello rin sa ‘yo, ani. 🙂

      ah, gano’n? lagi mo akong bistado, hmnn… btw, sinong madaldal, sino? ^^

      dumugo? ‘lika, pupunasan natin, haha. hwag kang mag-alala, limot ko na ang marami ro’n, haha. nakapagkunwari ba akong bata pa dati? haha, sabi ko na nga ba, pag ipinost ko ‘to, mapi-place nyo ang edad ko, bwahaha.

      swerte ka, bale. ako, gusto ko pa ring mag-english 5 till now, hi,hi. cheers!

  6. yearstricken says:

    I really enjoyed hearing about your reading journey and your comments about the various authors. I like the humor you include in your writing, too.

    • Hello, Ms. Yearstricken,

      Really honored you dropped by and glad you appreciate my reading story/history… 🙂 Oh, students and professors were big on reading at the time I entered the university, ahaha. It was when most professors were still multilingual… ^^ Warm regards 🙂

  7. juyjuy says:

    (Ninja mode) Hello ate! Nakapag comment na rin ako dito sa wakas! Wala pang pumapasok sa isip ko. (whisper) Wala pa din sina bossing. Hehehe.

    Ano palang course niyo sa college? Ako dati gusto kong mag AB English pero close na nung nag inquire ako. Kaya ang ending sa Statistics ako nag enrol. Haha!

    Dun sa mga Russian writers na nabanggit mo, si Tolstoy lang yung kilala ko. Mahilig ka pala sa classics. :))

  8. hello, juyjuy,

    ikaw na ang nakakasingit ng bloghopping, haha. di bale, lunch break pa naman. baka long lunch sina boss mo, hehe… ^^

    ah, A.B. grad kasi me, not B.S… tapos, mahirap pumasok sa A.B. English. nakow, di ako qualified, haha. pero, pag A.B., marami rin sobrang required readings, sasakit ng husto ang mata mo, hihi…

    mahilig akong magbasa. i guess it has something to do rin with mga kahalubilo mo/ko at that time. ahaha, marami sa kanila ay sa preppy schools galing and well-read ang pamilya. parang may peer pressure din to read, kumbaga…

    hindi rin. marami rin akong binasa at binabasang pop readings. medyo mas mabilis na lang akong magbasa, ayon… thanks for dropping by, juyjuy! 🙂

  9. aysabaw says:

    I don’t know about all the authors and their writings but for some reason i’ve read Love in Time of Cholera, not because of the author but i just wanted to read it that time. And for some reason, no one from my circle of friends have ever heard of that book, haha, i find it weird. I thought I’m weird for reading this book haha, at least i found someone else who have read it too 🙂

    • hello, Aysa… ahaha, too romantic wari ang Love in the Time of Cholera, hihi. but just your luck, nabasa mo…. versatile writer si Lolo Gabriel Marquez, kapatid. ay, mas maganda pala ang One Hundred Years of Solitude, try mo… 🙂

      hindi ka weird, sa ‘kin… medyo high end reading kasi si Marquez, sabi-sabi. ang mga sinulat nya, para raw sa literary and cultured, hoho. saka, ang mamahal ng books nya, parang kay Pablo Neruda, shaks. pero, marami na ring paperback copies, in the last 15 years (nakikita ko).

      thru UP ko sila na-encounter. magaganda ang required readings sa Peyups, sinusubukan nilang maging at par sa readings ng best universities sa mundo, whehe. saka marami sa schoolmates, from rich and middle class families, the kind na may libraries sa bahay and nagbabasa ang parents. yon. 😉

      • aysabaw says:

        hindi ka weird, sa ‘kin… medyo high end reading kasi si Marquez, sabi-sabi. ang mga sinulat nya, para raw sa literary and cultured, hoho. – so by luck naging literary and cultured ako ahahaah. ewan ko nga ba noon, ang naalala ko minsan nakita ko sya sa bookstore at hindi ko na tinantanan hanggang sa mabili ko na sya haha, medyo mura na ang bili ko jan kasi hindi na hard cover eh.

        hmmm…sige silipin ko mamaya yung one hundred years of solitude dahil balak ko talagang magpunta sa kino.. ang alam ko nakita ko na rin yan noon di ko lang binili ahahaha, hindi ko naman kasi alam na maganda pala yang mga yan.

        hmmm, di ako palabasa noong college wala kasi akong pambili ng libro ahahaha, kaya dito na lang ako sa dubai nakapag basa ng mga ganyan. saka di naman kami nirequire nyang mga ganyan noon kasi minor subject lang namin ang english eh hahaha

        astig mga classmates mo, may library sa bahay haha, magandang idea yan, parang gusto ko din nyan

      • ahaha, palagay ko, di rin naman… karami ring kopya ng Marquez’s and Neruda’s books sa NBS. medyo mahal lang, so parang prohibitive sa ordinaryong mambabasa. dati, mga 900 yata per copy – hindi pang-ordinaryong bulsa at hindi pang-estudyante, hihi. pero lately, may nakikita na akong softbound na Marquez na 200 lang and Neruda na 495 na lang (mahal pa rin, haha). actually, si Neruda ang medyo high-end and elite sounding, kumbaga. si Marquez, marami sa sinulat nya, tungkol sa culture and ways ng masa sa bansa nya e.g. pambababae, pagsasabong, gera at kagawian ng mga sundalo pag wala sa digmaan, atbp.

        si Isabel Allende, kilala mo, kapatid? another Chilean known writer, anak ng dating President ng bansa, medyo elitist novelist din ang turing sa kanya… i guess, because, intelligent-sounding ang works nya and perspective ng elite ang ginamit niya sa panulat… but if you’d examine closely, may hawig ang writings nina Allende and our Nick Joaquin. Joaquin daw is the best Filipino novelist in English, sabi… but he isn’t very educated in the formal sense. di ko sure if he finished HS or not. his father was a lawyer and they have a library in the house, so what he did was to quit school and nag-self study lang sa library ng Tatay nya, haha, before he bacame a journalist and later, a known novelist. pang-elite daw sulatin ni Joaquin pero, simpleng mama rin lang ang itsura nya – nagkukwento habang umiinom ng beer, hehe…

        ahaha, wala rin me noong pambili ng books. mostly ng binasa noong estudyante pa, hiram lang. no’ng nagkapera na ng onti, pabili-bili. pero, mostly sa booksale pa rin or sa NBS pag sale, hakhak. parang bumibili na lang ng kopya maski nabasa na? sadya atang gano’n for us, mga poor, hehe. but over time, nakakarami rin ng nababasa and naiipon, hoho. tyagaan rin at saka, ilang patak ng pagka-TH, ahaha. wah, sama me sa bookstore, Aysa… 🙂

        true. maraming maykaya and mayayaman sa Peyups. marami pati do’n, sa UP na rin nag-aral ang parents so, may reading tradition na sa pamilya. ayon… 😉

      • aysabaw says:

        helloie Ate San,

        hehe gusto ko nang doon na lang mag overnight sa Kino kagabi. Ansaya, ikot ng ikot, basa ng basa haha. Sa dami ng tiningnan ko, hindi ko na nakita yung mga books nila Lolo dahil nahilo na ko.

        Pero nakabili na ko ng first book by Alice Munro haha. Ate San, 3 weeks sya bago naging available dito at Too Much Happiness lang ang available. Sold out? Anyways, ayun super excited ako at di ko pa tapos yung isa kong binabasang libro ay sinimulan ko na yung bago ko haha.

        Iche-check ko din yang si Allende hehe. Si Nick Joaquin naman, naririnig ko lang noon pero di ko alam ang mga books. Though napag aralan namen nung HS ang mga Pinoy writers, hanggang doon na lang ang kaalaman ko kasi noong college si Bob Ong na ang nauso at Kiko Machine komiks so iyun lang ang dinadayo ko sa NBS. tahahahahah

        Well, bukod kay Madam Alice, may nabili pa akong isang book kahapon na as usual, hindi ko na naman kilala yung author at by luck na naman o mi ni mini minimo ang pagpili, napadpad ako sa Asian section haha. Chinese yung author pero translated na, title nya is “The Promise Bird.” Binili ko sya dahil nung binasa ko yung first page, feeling ko nanonood ako ng Chinese Traditional film haha.

        Ayun lang hehehehe.

      • hellowie din… ahaha, alam ko bakit gusto mo na do’n matulog, hihi. ‘lam ko. 😉 ba’t hindi? kasi, wala you na dalang kumot saka favorite pillow mo, haha.

        ahaha, next time mo na lang hanapin si Garcia Marquez, oks lang ‘yon. ayos yong Too Much Happiness. actually, di ko pa sya nababasa, haha. basta, magaling si Munro, maiingit at mai-inspire ka nya. after reading one of her works, may maiisulat ka siguro, parang… sya kasi ang type ng writer na likely aambisyunin mong magaya, hakhak. mahusay syang mag-describe? yon… ahihi, sumikat na rin si Alice Munro worldwide, finally. 82 na sya – buti she’s been awarded while still around. 🙂

        ahaha, Allende’s writings, mas light than kay Marquez, i guess. may novel syang ginawang movie, sina Wynona Ryder and Antonio Banderas ang bida. rebel si papa Antonio ro’n tapos anak-mayaman si Wynona, parang gano’n… medyo may history or history-based ang novels ni Allende. si Nick Joaquin naman, yong isang short story nya, Summer’s Soltice, ginawan rin ng movie, starring Dawn Zulueta. Tatarin ang title. mas maganda ang short story kesa sa movie, ahaha. pero ayos din, biruin mo, short story lang, ginawan ng movie? but siyempre, excited lang kita magkwentuhan ng halu-halo at sabay-sabay, ahihi. but better read them ng paisa-isa o dalawa-dalawa lang muna, para ma-enjoy mo at mas ma-appreciate. basa-basa pag may time, hihi…

        now ko pa lang narinig ang The Promise Bird. but if it captivated you sa first page, aba, di gow… ganyan din me, basa back cover, then basa ng konti sa unahan, two paragraphs sa gitna at isa pang paragraph na random, ahaha. pag nahuli ng book ang attention ko, likely, bibilhin ko yon. kahit wala akong masyadong pera, patatawarin.

        natuwa ako sa reading and shopping expedition mo, whihi. sana hindi ka na hilo and happily reading ka na… bagyo rito friday night and until sat ng madaling araw. pero mas hangin (howling wind) than rain. sa Visayas area ang tama and malala devastation. kasali uli ang Bohol, less than a month after the earthquake, kawawa naman sila…. strongest typhoon daw ‘yon to grace the planet ever, imagine? pero, less loss of lives, compared sa other natural calamities na dumaan. hindi magkamayaw ang CNN sa pagbabalita. inubos halos buong Sat. night nila sa coverage ng supertyphoon (at nanood naman ako). di nila ma-imagine ang 7, 000 islands na kaydalas bagyuhin, ahaha. happy weekend sa yow… 🙂

      • aysabaw says:

        Helloie….

        Napuyat nga ako kakabasa ng Too Much Happiness (ambagal ko kasi magbasa ahahaha), at dahil puro short stories sya natatapos agad ay gusto ko na ulit basahin yung susunod. Tama ka, buhay na buhay sya magsulat na parang andun ka mismo sa place and time na pinangyayarihan ng story. Slightly depressing nga lang kasi puro stories of heartbreak, and wrecked marriages ang nandon. Nung una hahaha, Akala ko konektado yung mga characters nung story at akala ko nung una, bawat chapter pinapakilala nya pa lang yung mga characters, hanggang sa naka 5 chapters nako at wala pa ring koneksyon yung mga stories and characters sa isa’t isa. bwaahahaha, natanga na naman ako don. Anyways, malamang mapupuyat na naman ako mamaya.

        Andami dami ngang books and authors na nabanggit mo haha nalulunod ako pero iisa isahin ko yan. Parang nagsisi tuloy ako at bakit di ako nagsimulang maging palabasa noon pa lang. Feeling ko tuloy andami kong namiss at andami kong dapat habulin, kahit walang humahabol haha.

        Oo grabe nga yung bagyo. Tapos mababalitaan ko pa ditong na hijack yung mga supplies ng redcross. Nu ba naman yan.

        Ingat pow jan…

        Happy Monday 🙂

      • hello, Aysa… haha, napuyat from too much reading ang isa ryan. gano’n nga, after reading one of Alice Munro’s stories, parang hinahanap mo next installment ng kwentong buhay ng characters. e, ibang tao na pala ang ikinukwento nya sa next, haha. para kasing naging kapitbahay mo na mga bida sa istorya nya? shaks. 🙂

        ay, ganon ata sadya. when we read works by excellent writers, medyo namamangha at natatanga, hehe. i mean, how could they have so much insights into human lives and thoughts and feelings? na pwede pala ‘yon, may nakaka-capture pala ng ganoong pakiramdam at perspectives? ahaha. basta, good readers develop their writing skills better, kapatid.

        oks lang ‘yon, you have your whole life ahead of you to read. mas maigi yong naka-grad ka muna, naka-land ng maayos na employment and may pambili books, haha. saka, may time to read, every so often… yon kasi ang mahirap ilugar or hanapin for most. a, e, the likes of me, nakarami ng binasa earlier on pa, maraming naging kapalit yon, kapatid, haha. and i get a whole lot of flaks sa blog, di mo papangarapin, haha. akala ng ibang bloggers, nagpapansin ako or what. hindi na gayon yon sa akin. mas gusto ko na lang, maisulat ang mga bagay-bagay, thoughts-thoughts kunyari and to get some feedbacks naman – see if i understood the stuffs i read and know if may na-absorb naman sa pinagbabasa, ahaha. try mong magsulat ng something after mo mabasa ang Too Much Happiness… 🙂

        oo nga, ilan na ang incidents ng looting sa Leyte. pati Red Cross trucks, tama ba naman? gano’n yata sadya pag calamities, lumalabas ang pagka-savage nating mga tao. despair, kapatid. instinct for survival, parang pag sa gera. medyo may gano’n kaming experience noong ma-Ondoy, we had to walk a lot and make pakiusap for basic needs like hot water, asin, batteries, mga sabon. nawawala kasi supplies dahil sa impassable roads, yon…

        ahaha, uulan na uli. may lakad pa me and di pa kumakain but am thinking if i should make a post in English about the supertyphoon… hey, mag-post ka this week, kapatid. ingat rin… 🙂

Leave a Reply

